ipsy bag

Metropolis Shmopolis

It’s the first Ipsy of 2017! I’m so excited to share it with you all because it’s one of my most favorites I’ve received. Also, I was inspired to show you how the products performed in each months post. If I get enough products that allow me to. KathleenLights recently started doing this with her Ipsy videos if you don’t watch her (which you should) so I thought I’d give it a go this year.

img_6568

Alright, my only downside to this month is the bag. It honestly makes me cringe to no end. You feel me if seeing circles close together does that to you. Typing that up is giving me the heebie-jeebies so let’s move on.

🐰 First up, the Trust Fund Beauty Lipgasm lip gloss. Such a funny name, lipgasm. The shade is in Blame Game. On their site, the full size is actually sold out! They retail for $18. Although they have this exact size available as an IPSY limited edition for $22. I don’t understand the math there since you’re getting less, but paying more? Who knows. This is a sticky lip gloss but it doesn’t feel sticky on. My hair would get stuck in it which was annoying but inevitable.The color is pretty opaque if you build it up to your preference. Personally, I’ve yet to find a gloss that I like. I passed this on to my mom who I know will like it!

🐰 Next is the Pretty Woman Nail Polish in I’m Not A Ballerina. Imagine if an actual ballerina got this in their Ipsy, I’m Not A Ballerina. Anyways, I’m a big fan of the color. But even a bigger fan of the claims on the box. 5 free, cruelty, paraben, sulfate, phthalates, GMO, petrochemical, and triclosan free. What an independent nail polish I must say. It’s vegan and made in the USA. I can’t wait to see how this performs on the nails. This is full sized and described as a pale pink pantone.  I can get behind this polish.

🐰 Movin on down the list we have the Mannakadar Beauty blush in Paradise. Honestly, I gasped when I saw this blush alone was $19. Remember we pay $10 for everything. Such a good deal! This little sucker was so hard to open so be careful if you have long nails and receive this. Also, beware this is so so pigmented. Which is amazing, I prefer overly pigmented than not. With that being said, though, go in with a light hand. I used a stipple brush and even then I applied too much at first but blend blend blend! I don’t know how much I like this as a blush, but you’ll see at the end how I prefer it!

I’ve gotten a pigment before like this from Naked Cosmetics in Sierra Nevada and loved it! This time I got Desert Sunset #DE-02. I do believe these are full sized as well which is awesome because you don’t need much at all to get pigmentation. I do wish they would install a sifter because it’s a loose pigment so you could imagine the sparkle explosion. I really really love this color (as you’ll see below) I can’t wait to use this more in the spring/summer.

🐰 Last but not least, which I was probably most excited for, Jelly Pong Pong lip scrub in Coffee + Coconut. This taste and smells so good I would eat it. It’s the full-size product that retails for, wait for it, $19. Did you double take? It’s free of a lot of bad ingredients I won’t bore you with listing so click the link if you want to know more! It’s vegan and claims to not test their products or ingredients on animals. I tried this out prior to putting on the lipgasm gloss and it worked really well and left my lips feeling smooth. Honestly, any scrub would do that if it’s gritty enough, which this one is. I, much like 99.9% of the world, suffer from chronic dry winter lips, so I’m overjoyed to have this.

Here are the swatches of the gloss, blush and pigment L-R

img_6591

Onto the eye look I made using most of these goodies!

I am so sorry for the awful lighting, it will be rainy and cloudy all week so the sun is long gone for a few days.

First- I used my fingers to apply the naked cosmetics pigment all over my lid, lower lash line and blended it into the crease with my finger as well. Pleasantly surprised it blended as well as it did with NO fallout.

Second- because I didn’t love the blush shade on my cheeks, I thought why not use it in the crease! So I took a blending brush, a smaller one for more precision, and blended back and forth. As well as blending it across my lower lash line too.

Because it was a quick look I just applied a quick coat of mascara. I primed my eyes with concealer since my shadow primer dried up, but I believe the pigment would be more pigmented with a primer beneath it. I really love how this turned out. I am loving pink tones together! With some black liner in the waterline and wispies, this would be a fun look to take from day to night.

I really hope you enjoyed this new way of showing you guys my Ipsy bags. Not all that different, but a step up right? Thanks for reading, did you get your Ipsy yet? Let me know! See you guys back here soon.

❤ PFB

7 thoughts on “Metropolis Shmopolis

  1. I got my Ipsy bag yesterday. I got the same blush and nail polish. I don’t use nail polish so that will be passed on but that blush looks amazing. Can’t wait to swatch it myself. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

