makeup

Keep Your Babies Clean 

Be honest, have you washed your brushes lately? Consider this a friendly reminder to do so. Looking at your gunky foundation brush. Like many makeup lovers, comes the extra love for what we use to apply makeup with- lots and lots of brushes. I don’t know what it is about them, the farrel, handle, softness etc but, I just can’t have enough. Or maybe I just haven’t reached my limit yet.

Now that I’m done declaring my love for makeup brushes, I’ll too declare that I love washing them. What? Huh? That’s unheard of. Yes I’m crazy, but I love cleaning. With a fresh and clean brush, you can conquer your makeup world. And that’s why you and I are here, to chat about two new options for you. Affordable and amazing, any makeup junkie should try these out.

This first product is fairly new, both of them really, to Ecotools. I started seeing it in stores these past couple of months and on their Instagram as well. I’m a big fan of the brand so I had get my hands on them. Previously I used the Beauty Blender Cleanser Solid and LOVED IT. Don’t get me wrong, it works really well and does the job. Repurchasing seemed dreadful though at $16. That’s when I came across the Ecotools Makeup Brush Shampoo for only $7.99 at Ulta! 


Shoutout to my lovely mom for taking these shots of me demonstrating the outcome. 

As you can see, it’s a squirt bottle dispenser, which you have a lot of control with. You get 6 FL OZ and for less than $10 I think that’s a bargain. I clean my brushes about twice a month, or depending how much makeup I use frequently. But either way, it’s increadibly inexpensive so repurchasing won’t break the bank.

For the most part there is no scent, just a faint fragrance but it’s not over powering. In my opinion its a very fresh and appropriate scent that doesn’t linger.   Your brushes will feel super soft once they’re completely dry and basically good as new. This doesn’t leave any residue on the bristles either.

Their second new cleansing product is the  Makeup Brush Cleansing Cloths for $6.98 at Walmart or $6.99 at Ulta.

 

A few weekends ago I went on a family trip, and last minute I had to do makeup on two people. I only packed makeup and brushes to do my own makeup so I was really limited on products. These would’ve been a saving grace when doing eyeshadow, and you know just being hygienic.

I demonstrated how well these work with help of my momma again. Her arms were tired by this time around, sorry mom!


Above I pictured some dirty brushes to show you the before. Then I swirled one of the brushes with a little pressure to try and get the powder off and voilà! Remember this isn’t a deep cleaning prouduct so it won’t remove every strain from your bristles. With that being said, this works amazing for a quick spot clean! It doesn’t leave any eyeshadow powder so it’s super easy, fast to go from one color to another with no transfer.

After you’re done with the brush it does leave the bristles a little, brace yourself if you hate this word, moist. But, it dries in a matter of seconds. The cloths look and feel like your average makeup remover towelettes with a mild scent.

You get 25 cleansing cloths for basically $7. In comparison to my favorite Burts Bees Facial Cleansing Towelettes, you get 30 for $4.47 (cheapest at Walmart). It’s kind of a rip off if …

A) you do your own makeup daily

B) are a makeup artist

C) you just love playing with makeup ever so often

I’m not saying I don’t recommend these, because they work wonderful, but for the price and amount you get I would limit the use of them if you do purchase. The price can add up if you go through them too fast. Although, they’re a decent size to clean numerous brushes. They’re not essential but I would say if you don’t have a lot of makeup brushes they can be useful tool to keep around for a quick clean.

Ecotools is often on BOGO at Ulta so you could get these together on sale for less instead of buying them separately elsewhere. Along with the coupon if you’re a rewards member.

This post has been long overdue, but I hope you guys enjoyed the lengthy read today! Also, I hope this was a good reminder to go and clean your brush babies, your brush and face will thank you for it.

❤ PFB

Leave a Reply

