Uncategorized

Brow Mascara…With a Tint

I hope you all got the jingle I was going for in my title. Don’t mind me being confusing and illiterate. I applaud you for still clicking on my post though and reading. Any who, let’s continue on to see what the heck I’m talking about.

What is it?-

Brow mascara, clear or tinted, can be used to set your eyebrows in place after you fill them in. Another way is to use it as a quick ‘pick me up’ (as I like to call it). If you just need something to make your eyebrows look put together for running errands and don’t want to bother penciling them in, a tinted brow mascara can save you the time and still look ready.

 

The two I’ll be talking about today are:

NYX Tinted Brow Mascara ($6.99, Ulta) Right Swatch

Wet n Wild Ultimate Brow Mascara ($4.99, Walgreens) Left Swatch

As you can see by the pictures, even though they’re both designed for brunettes, the NYX brow mascara is a more warm brown color. While the WNW is a more darker brown.

Wet n Wild Ultimate Brow Mascara- “Nothing But Bru-Nette”

NYX Tinted Brow Mascara- “Brunette”

 

Ever heard the saying “brows are meant to be sisters not twins”? It really is something to live by, that’s if you care about your eyebrows. If you try and make them look too similar it only leads to over plucking, or a brow shape not suited for your face shape. No surprise, mine aren’t perfect (hardly anyone’s are natural), but I’m thankful they’re, dare I say hairy, enough to use a product like this!

Let’s break it down now…

NYX:

  • Wet formula
  • Dries quick
  • Easy to work with
  • Dries firm but not stiff
  • Comfortable
  • Nicely pigmented
  • Lasted up to 7 hours
  • Easy removal

Wet N Wild:

  • Slippery formula
  • Can be messy
  • Dried ‘soft’
  • Lightweight (comfortable)
  • Easy to use
  • Very pigmented
  • Lasted up to 5-6 hours
  • Easy removal

Both crazy affordable for anyone which is amazing and either a great cruelty free option.

When applying the NYX Tinted Brow it was easy to slide on and move it with my natural arch and shape. In my experience, I do feel the need to work kind of quick with this because it does dry pretty fast. The wand doesn’t pick up very much product when you first go to use it, which can be a good thing if you don’t need much to start off with, though I did need more than one coat for myself.

I went to apply the WNW, when removing the wand from the tube you can tell it’s a much wetter formula. Made me nervous, but it did work. It can get messy though. My right brow is more sparse than my left, like I said sistas not twins, so some of the product settled on my skin and looked unnatural. Was also difficult to remove right away. Dried fairly slower than the NYX, however I can see this too being a quick brow filler for day to day. The wand did have a good amount of product when I first used it so I did find myself scrapping it off along the tube. Because of that reason I only needed one coat and didn’t go back to pick up more.

Ultimately both worked well in different ways. If you have fuller brows, go for either one of these, both will get the job done! If you’re more on the sparse side (less hairy) skip on the WNW. I love using tinted brow mascaras because I don’t wear makeup everyday, for obvious reasons *weeps* and this is a nice touch to my face.

Thanks for reading today’s post! Hope you’re having a great day so far.

❤ PFB

 

Leave a Reply

